My History On Medium Since 2016

And What A Long Strange Trip It’s Been

GE McKerrihan
3 min readJan 26, 2024
Graffiti In Oaxaca de Juarez
“Graffiti Portrait Of My Medium Experience” — Image by Author

I started reading on Medium in 2016. That was before they began the Partner Program. This was a very different place then, an understatement.

I recall I wrote a few stories here in that first year. Though they are no longer listed in my published stories. WTF?

In January 2017, I met a friend in Honolulu. She was a woman I met online in early 2016. She was an Australian, born and raised at Bondi Beach, near Sydney.

We traveled together for 14 months. Living for months at a time, as visas allowed, in Hawaii, New Zealand, Australia, and Mexico. Most of these places on several occasions.

We considered ourselves ‘nomadic naturalists’. A romantic and high minded label. It was great fun while it lasted.

During our first three months in Hawaii, we lived across the road from Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu. A true paradise. We walked the beach daily, and occasionally rode the bus to Honolulu. Yes, a rather idyllic life.

During the first month on Oahu, we both started writing on Medium, using my original account. Again, this was before the Partner Program.

We alternated writing days. We obviously had different points of view, though all of our stories…

--

--

GE McKerrihan

I’ve been using the camera for nearly 50 years. I write about Photography, Art, Travel, and Life. Top Writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, and Inspiration.