Finding Art On The Street

It’s Monday, And My Definition Of Art May Be A Bit Skewed

GE McKerrihan
4 min readMay 23, 2022
Twin motor scooters parked on the street.
“Twin Vitalia Scooters” — Image by Author

To my mind art does not have to be a painting hanging in a museum. Sure, that works too. My view of what is art is broad and far ranging.

In my mind, any pursuit informed by one’s heart can be considered Art. Sure it can be painting and sculpture. It can also be cooking, fashion design, and scooter design for that matter. The list is endless.

Many years ago I ran across this unattributed quote . . . “Being an artist is not about what you do, but rather how you live your life.”

I have never forgotten these words, and to this day feel this a valid definition of both art, and being an artist.

There is no doubt in my mind that the twin Italian scooters above are art. I mean come on, they’re Italian after all. Isn’t Italy synonymous with Art? This may be a bit of tongue in cheek humor, but I stand by my definition.

A painting of two figures in an unusual abstract style, using black, white, and gray tones.
“Two Figures” Image by Author

This is a portion of a painting by Andi Jacci, a local Oaxaca artist. The piece is a part of the invitational exhibition of Watermelon paintings in Oaxaca, a tribute to the famed Oaxaca artist, Rufino…

--

--

GE McKerrihan

I’ve been using the camera for nearly 50 years. I write about Photography, Art, Travel, and Life. Top Writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, and Inspiration.